Every year traffic laws are changed and new laws come into effect. Telesis Collision Center has listed some of those new laws for you so you can avoid getting a ticket and safely abide by California’s latest laws.
Helmets on Children:
AB 3077, sponsored by then-Assemblywoman Anna Caballero, D-Salinas. This new law allows law enforcement to issue a “fix-it” ticket to anyone who is under 18 and not wearing a helmet while on a skateboard, skates or a bicycle. If the minor who received the ticket completes a safety course and shows proof of helmet ownership within 120 days of issuance, the ticket can be fixed.
AB 2989 sponsored by Assemblyman Heath Flora, R-Ripon removes the requirement for people over 18 to wear a helmet while riding a motorized scooter. The law also prohibits motorized scooters on highways with a speed limit over 25 mph or roads with a speed limit over 35 mph (unless there is a clearly marked bikeway they can ride within).
Carpool Lanes for HOV Vehicles:
The new law, AB 5644, allows low- and zero-emission vehicles access to carpool lanes no matter how many people are riding in the vehicle. You can visit the Department of Motor Vehicles website to get more information on Clean Air Vehicle Decals at: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/vr/decal
If you are looking to get a clean vehicle rebate, please visit the California Clean Vehicle Rebate Project website at: https://cleanvehiclerebate.org/eng
Loud Muffler Fines:
Motorcycles and vehicles with “modified or excessively loud exhaust or muffler systems” can now be fined under AB 1824. Previously, those that violated this law could avoid the fine if they corrected their exhaust system but no longer.
Passing Garbage Trucks:
You may think this would be common sense, but law AB 2115 requires drivers to pull into an adjacent lane when coming up to or passing a garbage truck whose lights are flashing. If this is not possible, drivers must slow down to a “safe and reasonable speed”.
Smog Check Changes:
Vehicles that are 8 model years old are now exempt from requiring a smog check. Prior to this new law, the smog check exemption was for models up to 6 years old. For vehicles that are exempt for years 7 and 8 a $25 yearly smog abatement fee will be due. The current $20 smog abatement fee for years 1-6 remains unchanged.
DUI – Ignition Interlock Device:
SB 1046 mandates repeat offenders for driving under the influence and first DUI offendors where an injury occurred to install an ignition interlock device for anywhere from 12-48 months. For all of the details you can visit the Department of Motor Vehicle’s website at:
Temporary License Plates:
When a new or used vehicle is purchased a temporary paper license plate must be displayed at the point of sale. The temporary plate will contain a unique number and expiration date. The purpose of this law is to reduce the number of violators at toll roads and for improving safety. For more info you can read about this new law and read some FAQs at: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/vr/templp
Gender Identity on Driver’s License or ID Card:
On an application for a CA driver’s license or ID card, an individual can identify as male, female or “nonbinary”. If an individual chooses “nonbinary” an X will be next to the gender category on their license or ID card.
All of us at Telesis Collision Center hope you find this information helpful!
~Happy and safe driving~